“Be the change you wish to see in the world” ~ Mahatma Ghandi

One of my favorite quotes.  It got me thinking about what I can do to make the world a smidgeon of a better place.  And what a better way than to start with animals…pets to be precise…??!

Animals are slowly, but surely, making their way into hospitals.  Not because they are getting sick, but because they are making the sick better.  It’s a beautiful thing, really.  So many people who are in for long-term treatment, whether it be children or adults, can suffer from depression as a result from loneliness, hopelessness, anxiety, etc..  And these feelings can manifest to your body physically, slowing down healing in so many ways.

When I’m down and have decided that I do not want to speak to any human being in the world, I find that my dog is the best comfort I can get.  I know that Felix loves me unconditionally, and does not pass a single judgement (besides maybe her want of more food sooner).  This unconditional love is the best healing in the world.

Currently, there are many hospitals that allow for trained dogs to come door to door to visit patients (with their permission of course).  This is a wonderful program which I fully endorse.  Now let’s go one step further.  If there were regulations put in place, say, to make sure the animal has a good temperament, all vaccinations were up to date, and the animal was clean, why couldn’t they be allowed to visit their family?

I believe this is possible.  I have created a petition for Asheville’s Mission Hospital to allow for personal pets visitation for long-term patients.  If you support this cause, please sign it HERE.

pet

Leave a Reply

