July: Humour Review

Dear Reader,

I apologize for the delay in writing my review for last month’s book, but I have to say that I have been shoulder deep in planning for my wedding in October (!!).  What?!  Two months?!  How did that happen so fast and where did all my money go?

Anyway, I got about 3/4 the way through A Walk in the Woods, by Bill Bryson (wedding), and I loved it!  I’m still reading, but at a slower pace than the previous half year.  I found the book extremely relatable, especially since I live in Asheville which is a popular stop for AT through-hikers.  And Bill, the author and hiker, is so funny!  I simply cannot put it any other way.  I could picture myself in his shoes, laughing and cringing, appreciating and begging, praying and cussing…mostly cringing, begging, and cussing.

I knew already about pricing supplies for trips like these since I worked in an outdoor store in Asheville, but my eyes were opened about the planning for months on a trail, where to stop, who to avoid, what to eat (or what to not eat), brief periods of insanity, etc.

I will say that there were bits of historical information that bored me slightly (and I feel bad saying that!).  But overall the book is hysterical and I will finish reading over the next week.  I highly recommend if you’re looking for something light, informational, and of course, laugh out loud funny.  :)

xx

Leave a Reply

