Oil pulling

You may have heard of this new mouthwash method called oil pulling.  Actually, it’s not new at all.  It’s pretty old; in fact oil pulling has been around for centuries.  And I’ve decided to bite the bullet and try it.  Why, you ask? Well, it’s been making its way around the internet…I’m not big into cleanses, mostly because I’m just too lazy, but this cleanse caught my interest.

I work in a microbiology lab and because of this, I am more attuned than I once was to what is living in and on my body.  I can’t say this is a good or bad thing yet, but I am definitely more skeptical of what I eat and how often I wash my hands.  As such, I know that there are literally boo-coos of bacteria in my mouth, many of which unfortunately contribute to bad breath, plaque, and other yucky things.  And I heard, or rather saw via internet, that oil pulling can alleviate some of those yucky things, including (but not limited to) headaches, bronchitis, tooth decay, heal lymph nodes and other organ tissues in the mouth, and even clear up the skin.  Um, yes, I would love to have beautiful clear skin and be headache free…oh and fresh breath too.

So, being the scientist that I am, I decided to put theory to practice and test oil pulling for a full 30 days.

Leave a Reply

