Our home pictures…finally!

I know it’s been quite a while since my last post, but a lot has gone on in these past couple of months!  First, Taylor and I decided to join a cross-fit gym Hard Exercise Words (HEW).  I had my hesitations at first since I never liked the previous gym I was at, but I absolutely love it!  In just five weeks, I gained 3.5 inches of muscle throughout my body!  It has been an amazing transformation, and I feel so much better!

Taylor decided to join the National Guard as well.  Again, I had hesitations, really strong hesitations.  He was in the ROTC in college and ended up dropping it after coming to terms with the fact that his superior was not suited for his job.  He hasn’t exactly regretted his decision, but ever since then, he has wanted to join.  He left the last week of April and will be finished the second week of July for his basic training.  It has been difficult for me…especially when I hear the coyotes howling at night in the pasture…uggghhh.

And I quit my job as a Microbiologist at Genova.  Again, not an easy decision, especially when jobs are so hard to come by here in Asheville, but I wasn’t satisfied with what I was doing in my career path.  I will be teaching in the fall at a public charter school here in Asheville (hopefully in the sciences) which I am so excited about!  In the meantime, I decided to have a bit of fun over the summer and went back to Biltmore to work in their outdoor department.  I love being outside and it really is such a breath of fresh air (pun intended).

Annnddd the reason for this post…my high school alma mater, Principia, is writing an article on our house.  I actually designed a slightly larger version of this house back in high school in an interior design class and kept the original drawings which I ended up using for our current house.  I’ll share the article when it comes out (I think this month!), but in the meantime, I wanted to post some pictures so you can see it!  I have to thank my mom for coming over and taking all of the wonderful photos with her oober nice camera!  Thanks mom!

The entryway.

The entryway.

Our living room as you walk in through the front door.

Our living room as you walk in through the front door.

The kitchen.

The kitchen.

The living room from the kitchen.

The living room from the kitchen.

The dining "area".

The dining “area”.

The office from the living room.

The entryway, office, and stairwell from the living room. 

The office.

The office.

The upstairs hallway.

The upstairs hallway.

The guest bedroom...waiting for you!

The guest bedroom…waiting for you!

The bonus room above the garage...waiting for me...and money.

The bonus room above the garage…waiting for me…and money.

The guest bathroom.

The guest bathroom.

The master bedroom.  And the master of the house.

The master bedroom. And the master of the house.

The master bathroom.

The master bathroom.

The kitchen, taken from the back porch doorway.

The kitchen, taken from the back porch doorway.

The back of the house from the backyard.

The back of the house from the backyard.

The back porch complete with dog.

The back porch complete with dog.

Our home.  I'm holding the original drawings of the house I designed in high school.

Our home. I’m holding the framed original drawings of the house I designed in high school.

Leave a Reply

