Bullet Coffee

Dear reader,

Since joining a cross-fit gym, I’ve been reading interesting blogs and articles from fellow cross-fitters about nutrition and exercise.  I’ve never really been one to care passionately about nutrition, especially since my love of Lays Dill Potato Chips pretty much overlaps everything else in my life, but I kept seeing articles about “bullet coffee”.  And I’ve never, ever heard of bullet coffee before.  So I finally clicked on the link, intrigued, and was surprised.

Bullet coffee or tea is made in many areas of the world, especially in colder climates.  By blending high quality coffee with butter (and in my case, coconut oil), you are providing your body with essential fats and nutrients that is extremely nourishing and satisfying.  I’ve found that just days after trying bullet coffee, I have more energy in the morning and I’m less starved than usual…which is saying an awful lot since I love eating all day.

I realize that to make the “healthiest” blend of bullet coffee, you would need a high grade coffee, butter from grass-fed cows, etc.  Ain’t nobody got time for that…or money.  I’ve always liked Archer Farms coffee from Target and I swear by Land O’ Lakes butter (sorrynotsorry)…oh and along with some coconut oil I bought at Whole Foods, I add a splash of vanilla creamer.  I know!  I hear all the gasps from true bullet coffee drinkers.  But that’s how I’ve always enjoyed my regular cup of jo and it goes quite well with my beefed up version.  So here’s my recipe:

Bullet coffee

  • 10 oz brewed coffee
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter (you can use two, but one seems just fine for my regular list of activities)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • splash vanilla creamer

Combine all ingredients in your blender of choice and blend until fully mixed.  Coffee will quickly begin to froth at the top (okay!).  Pour into your favorite mug and prepare to fully slip away to the slopes of Tibetan mountains… :)

On a side note, do not leave your tasty butter lying around because your forever hungry cat will eat it.

 

Leave a Reply

